The History of Seaford Junior Football Club

Seaford Junior Football started in 1970 however, was not formally recognised as a club until it was officially formed at a meeting on February 15, 1971.
1970 saw Fred Stewart organise and coach 2 junior teams, an under 8 and under 10. However, they did not compete in any official competition, and games were organised against clubs who were participating in the F&DJFL which included Pines, Frankston Rovers, Mornington, Frankston YCW & Frankston East.
The first official meeting of the Seaford Junior Football Club was held at the Seaford Football Club rooms, and was chaired by Bruce Stewart, who was President of the Seaford Football Club at the time.
A draft constitution was tabled which included Rule 2 – “That the objective of the club shall be to encourage, promote and foster junior football”
Due to the disbanding of the Nth Seaford Junior Football Club, their players amalgamated with our own to form the Seaford Junior Football Club, with a first season competition player enrolment total of 204 boys, playing in five teams.
The club had mixed colours with the under 12 & 14 teams playing in Collinwood jumpers on a Saturday morning whilst the remaining teams wore Richmond jumpers.
The club was initially located at Seaford Football ground (seniors ground) and relocated to East Seaford Res now known as Norm Cathie Oval in the early seventies. The club once again relocated in 2012 to a fantastic new facility at Belvedere Reserve which includes 3 ovals and club rooms which were named after club stalwart Davey Richardson in 2014
The club has produced several VFL/AFL players that include Robert Harvey, Anthony Harvey, Robert Elphingstone, Paul Johnson, Ashley Gehling, Damien McCormack, Marcus Marigliani & Lawrence, Angwin, Mitchell White, Jack Lonie & Aiden Bonar. Many more have gone onto represent Frankston Football club in the VFA/VFL and MPNFL clubs.
Robert Harvey has gone on to be an assistant coach at Collingwood.
Paul Johnson is the games record holder at the club with 179 games and won a Liston Trophy playing for Sandringham
In 2019 our first female player Molly McDonald was drafted to St. Kilda in the AFLW competition, paving the way for many more girls to follow.
Alan Wickes Medallist
1975 – Mark Czarnecki
1976 - Russell Forbs    
1981 – Chris Hutchinson
1986 – Robert Harvey
1999 – Phil Matherson
2010 – Brendan Doyle
2011 – Mitchell White
2013 – Callum White
Pat Rollo Medallist
1993 – Steve Bernard
2003 Damien McCormack
2006 Cruze Tohiariki
2008 Luke Smith
2012 Jack Lonie
2015 Brodie McLean
Ken Bartholomew Medallist
2014  - Tiara Annear
2015  - Tiara Annear
The club was awarded gold accreditation as part of the AFL Quality Club program in 2006 and was the first club in Australia to achieve this accreditation.
Key club administrators & Life Members:
Norm Cathie            Des & Maureen Dalrymple
Fred Stewart             Bob Dupas
Davey Richardson         Dawn Cotterell
Bill Bruce             Jack Underwood
Glenn Edgerton         Garry Woolard          Mark Davenport